top of page
Search

Download I-134 Form: A Guide to Declaration of Financial Support for Immigrants



Download I-134 Form: A Complete Guide




If you are planning to sponsor someone to come to the United States as a nonimmigrant visitor or a humanitarian parolee, you may need to download and fill out Form I-134, Declaration of Financial Support. This form is an affidavit of support that shows that you have enough income and assets to support your beneficiary during their stay in the U.S. In this article, we will explain what Form I-134 is, why you may need it, how to download and fill it out, how to submit it to the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) or the consulate, and what to expect after submitting it.




download i 134 form




What is Form I-134 and why do you need it?




Form I-134 is an affidavit of support that shows you have a sponsor in the U.S.




Form I-134 is an official document that you, as a U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident (LPR), can use to agree to provide financial support to a beneficiary who is applying for certain immigration benefits for their temporary stay in the U.S. By signing this form, you are declaring that you have enough income and assets to cover your beneficiary's living expenses and that they will not become a public charge (a financial burden) to the U.S. government. You are also agreeing to reimburse any public agency that provides any means-tested public benefits to your beneficiary during their stay in the U.S.


You may need Form I-134 if you are applying for a nonimmigrant visa or humanitarian parole




Form I-134 is required for some types of nonimmigrant visas, such as tourist (B), student (F), exchange visitor (J), fiancé(e) (K), or temporary worker (H) visas. The USCIS or the consulate may ask you to submit Form I-134 along with your beneficiary's visa application to show that they have adequate financial support in the U.S. and that they do not intend to immigrate permanently.


Form I-134 is also required for humanitarian parole, which is a discretionary grant of temporary admission to the U.S. for urgent humanitarian reasons or significant public benefit. If you are requesting humanitarian parole for yourself or someone else, you must submit Form I-134 along with your parole application (Form I-131) to show that you have a sponsor in the U.S. who can provide for your basic needs.


How to fill out i 134 form online


I 134 form instructions and requirements


I 134 form sample for k1 visa


Where to get i 134 form for free


I 134 form declaration of financial support


I 134 form affidavit of support for visitor visa


I 134 form pdf download from USCIS website


I 134 form cost and fees


I 134 form processing time and status


I 134 form mistakes and errors to avoid


I 134 form vs i 864 form comparison


I 134 form for f1 student visa


I 134 form for b2 tourist visa


I 134 form for j1 exchange visitor visa


I 134 form for h1b work visa


I 134 form for e2 treaty investor visa


I 134 form for tn NAFTA professional visa


I 134 form for o1 extraordinary ability visa


I 134 form for r1 religious worker visa


I 134 form for p1 athlete or entertainer visa


I 134 form for l1 intracompany transferee visa


I 134 form for q1 cultural exchange visitor visa


I 134 form for m1 vocational student visa


I 134 form for k3 spouse of US citizen visa


I 134 form for v1 spouse of lawful permanent resident visa


I 134 form for u1 victim of crime visa


I 134 form for t1 victim of trafficking visa


I 134 form for s5 informant of criminal organization visa


I 134 form for s6 informant of terrorism visa


I 134 form for i humanitarian parolee visa


I 134 form for c1 transit or crewmember visa


I 134 form for d1 crewmember departing by same vessel visa


I 134 form for a1 diplomatic or official visa


I 134 form for g1 principal resident representative of recognized foreign government visa


I 134 form for n8 parent of an alien classified SK3 or SN3 visa


I 134 form for n9 child of an alien classified SK1, SK2, SK4, SN1, SN2 or SN4 visa


How to submit i 134 form online or by mail


How to prove income and assets on i 134 form


How to update or withdraw i 134 form


How to check the validity and expiration of i 134 form


How to get a copy of i 134 form from USCIS


How to request a fee waiver for i 134 form


How to appeal a denial or rejection of i 134 form


How to find a sponsor or joint sponsor for i 134 form


How to write a letter of support for i 134 form


How to attach evidence and documents to i 134 form


How to sign and date i 134 form


How to contact USCIS about i 134 form issues


How to renew or extend i 134 form


How to download and fill out Form I-134




You can download Form I-134 from the USCIS website or use an online service




You can download Form I-134 from the USCIS website at [ The form is available in PDF format and consists of 13 pages. You can print out the form and fill it out by hand or type in your information using a computer. Make sure you use black ink and write clearly If you prefer a more convenient and faster way to fill out Form I-134, you can use an online service that provides a user-friendly interface and guides you through the process step by step. For example, you can use [Form I-134 Online], which is a secure and reliable platform that helps you complete Form I-134 in minutes. You can also access your form anytime and anywhere, save your progress, edit your information, and download or print your form as needed.


You need to provide information about yourself, the beneficiary, and your financial situation




Form I-134 consists of eight parts, each with a number of questions that you need to answer truthfully and accurately. Here is a summary of what information you need to provide in each part:


Part


Information


Part 1. Information About You


Your full name, date of birth, place of birth, U.S. address, phone number, email address, citizenship status, Social Security number (if any), USCIS online account number (if any), and relationship to the beneficiary.


Part 2. Information About the Beneficiary


The beneficiary's full name, date of birth, place of birth, country of citizenship, U.S. address (if any), foreign address, phone number (if any), email address (if any), passport number (if any), visa classification (if known), and purpose of trip to the U.S.


Part 3. Other Information About You


Your occupation, employer's name and address, annual income, other income sources (if any), assets (if any), dependents (if any), previous affidavits of support (if any), and current nonimmigrant status (if applicable).


Part 4. Information on the Beneficiary's Spouse and Children


The spouse's and children's full names, dates of birth, places of birth, countries of citizenship, U.S. addresses (if any), foreign addresses (if any), phone numbers (if any), email addresses (if any), passport numbers (if any), visa classifications (if known), and purposes of trips to the U.S.


Part 5. Sponsor's Statement, Contact Information, Declaration, Certification, and Signature


Your statement that you are willing and able to support the beneficiary financially during their stay in the U.S., your contact information for USCIS or the consulate to reach you if needed, your declaration that you understand and agree to the terms and conditions of Form I-134, your certification that the information you provided is true and correct, and your signature and date.


Part 6. Interpreter's Contact Information, Certification, and Signature


The interpreter's full name, language used for interpretation, contact information, certification that they interpreted Form I-134 for you accurately and completely, and their signature and date.


Part 7. Contact Information for the Person or Organization Preparing this Affidavit of Support


The preparer's full name, firm or organization name (if any), contact information, certification that they prepared Form I-134 for you at your request and with your consent, and their signature and date.


Part 8. Additional Information


Any additional information that you want to provide or explain regarding Form I-134. You need to indicate the page number, part number, item number, and beneficiary's name for each piece of information.


You may also need to attach supporting documents such as tax returns, bank statements, and employment letters




Depending on your situation and the type of visa or parole that your beneficiary is applying for, you may also need to attach some supporting documents to Form I-134 to prove your financial ability and credibility. Some of the common documents that you may need to provide are:


  • Your federal income tax returns for the most recent year or a transcript from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).



  • Your bank statements for the past 12 months showing your deposits, withdrawals, and balances.



  • Your employment letters from your current and previous employers stating your position, salary, and length of employment.



  • Your pay stubs or other evidence of income for the past six months.



  • Your evidence of ownership and value of any assets such as real estate, stocks, bonds, or certificates of deposit.



  • Your evidence of any liabilities or debts such as mortgages, loans, or credit card balances.



You should make copies of these documents and attach them to Form I-134. Do not send original documents unless specifically requested by the USCIS or the consulate. You should also translate any document that is not in English into English and include a certification from the translator.


How to submit Form I-134 to the USCIS or the consulate




You can submit Form I-134 online or by mail depending on your situation




The way you submit Form I-134 depends on whether you are sponsoring someone for a nonimmigrant visa or humanitarian parole. If you are sponsoring someone for a nonimmigrant visa, you can either submit Form I-134 online through the [Department of State's Consular Electronic Application Center (CEAC)] or mail it to the U.S. consulate where your beneficiary will apply for their visa. You should check with the specific consulate for their instructions and requirements. You should also send a copy of Form I-134 and the supporting documents to your beneficiary so that they can present them during their visa interview.


If you are sponsoring someone for humanitarian parole, you must mail Form I-134 along with your parole application (Form I-131) and the supporting documents to the USCIS at the following address:


USCIS


Attn: HP


131 S. Dearborn - 3rd Floor


Chicago, IL 60603-5517


You need to pay a filing fee of $0 for Form I-134




The good news is that there is no filing fee for Form I-134. However, you may still need to pay other fees associated with your beneficiary's visa or parole application, such as the visa application fee, the biometric services fee, or the parole processing fee. You should check with the USCIS or the consulate for the exact amount and method of payment for these fees. You need to sign and date Form I-134 and keep a copy for your records




Before you submit Form I-134, you need to sign and date it in Part 5. If you have an interpreter or a preparer, they also need to sign and date the form in Part 6 and Part 7, respectively. You should not use a stamped or typewritten signature. If you are submitting Form I-134 online, you can use an electronic signature.


You should also keep a copy of Form I-134 and the supporting documents for your records. You may need to refer to them in the future or provide them to the USCIS or the consulate if they request them.


What to expect after submitting Form I-134




The USCIS or the consulate will review your Form I-134 and may request additional information or evidence




After you submit Form I-134, the USCIS or the consulate will review it and determine if you meet the requirements to be a sponsor. They may also verify the information and documents that you provided with other sources, such as the IRS, the Social Security Administration, or your employer. They may contact you or your beneficiary if they have any questions or concerns about your Form I-134. They may also request additional information or evidence from you or your beneficiary to support your Form I-134. You should respond to any requests as soon as possible and follow the instructions carefully.


The USCIS or the consulate will make a decision on your beneficiary's eligibility for the visa or parole




The USCIS or the consulate will use your Form I-134 along with other factors to decide whether your beneficiary is eligible for the visa or parole that they are applying for. They will consider your beneficiary's purpose of travel, ties to their home country, financial resources, health, criminal history, immigration history, and other relevant factors. They will also check if your beneficiary is inadmissible to the U.S. for any reason, such as fraud, security, health, or criminal grounds. If your beneficiary is inadmissible, they may need to apply for a waiver of inadmissibility (Form I-601) and submit it along with their visa or parole application.


The USCIS or the consulate will notify you and your beneficiary of the outcome and the next steps




The USCIS or the consulate will notify you and your beneficiary of their decision on your beneficiary's visa or parole application. If your beneficiary's application is approved, they will receive their visa or parole document and instructions on how to enter the U.S. If your beneficiary's application is denied, they will receive a written notice explaining the reasons for the denial and their options to appeal or reapply.


Conclusion




Form I-134 is an important document that you may need to download and fill out if you are sponsoring someone to come to the U.S. as a nonimmigrant visitor or a humanitarian parolee. It is an affidavit of support that shows that you have enough income and assets to support your beneficiary during their stay in the U.S. and that they will not become a public charge. You can download Form I-134 from the USCIS website or use an online service to complete it easily and quickly. You need to provide information about yourself, the beneficiary, and your financial situation, and attach supporting documents such as tax returns, bank statements, and employment letters. You can submit Form I-134 online or by mail depending on your situation, and pay no filing fee for it. You need to sign and date Form I-134 and keep a copy for your records. The USCIS or the consulate will review your Form I-134 and make a decision on your beneficiary's eligibility for the visa or parole. They will notify you and your beneficiary of the outcome and the next steps.


FAQs




Q: How long does it take to process Form I-134?




A: The processing time for Form I-134 varies depending on the type of visa or parole that your beneficiary is applying for, the workload of the USCIS or the consulate, and other factors. Generally, it may take from a few weeks to several months for Form I-134 to be processed.


Q: How long is Form I-134 valid?




A: Form I-134 is valid for one year from the date of submission. However, you may need to update your information or provide new evidence if there are any changes in your financial situation or relationship with your beneficiary.


Q: What is the difference between Form I-134 and Form I-864?




A: Form I-134 is an affidavit of support for nonimmigrant visas and humanitarian parole, while Form I A: Form I-134 is an affidavit of support for nonimmigrant visas and humanitarian parole, while Form I-864 is an affidavit of support for immigrant visas and adjustment of status. Form I-134 is not legally binding and does not create a contract between you and the U.S. government, while Form I-864 is legally enforceable and obligates you to support your beneficiary until they become a U.S. citizen or earn 40 work quarters. Form I-134 has no specific income requirement, while Form I-864 requires you to meet at least 125% of the federal poverty guidelines for your household size.


Q: Can I withdraw Form I-134 after submitting it?




A: Yes, you can withdraw Form I-134 at any time before your beneficiary receives their visa or parole by sending a written request to the USCIS or the consulate. However, you should be aware that withdrawing Form I-134 may affect your beneficiary's eligibility for the visa or parole, and they may need to find another sponsor or provide other evidence of financial support.


Q: Can I sponsor more than one person with Form I-134?




A: Yes, you can sponsor more than one person with Form I-134, as long as you can show that you have enough income and assets to support all of them. You need to fill out a separate Form I-134 for each beneficiary and provide information on their spouse and children in Part 4. You also need to provide supporting documents for each beneficiary and indicate the total number of beneficiaries that you are sponsoring on each form. 44f88ac181


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page